31 Days of Halloween – Week 2

Hey kids!  Well, we’re now two weeks into the best month of the year, October!  Which means we’re getting closer and closer to Halloween.  I started this month with a blog about all the movies I had set aside to watch this month in honor of the best holiday of the year.  I wanted to watch at least one thing from this Halloween box of videos each day.   You can see the list here: https://wowmonstershow.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/31-days-of-halloween-the-list/

And you can see how I did in week 1 here: https://wowmonstershow.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/31-days-of-halloween-week-1/

 

OCTOBER 8

Image

PRINCE OF DARKNESS

I just got the new Scream Factory Blu-Ray of this and wanted to check it out.  It looks beautiful and has some cool extras on it as well.  It’s funny, when I first saw this movie as a teenager I liked it all except the ending.  I think I wanted it to be straight supernatural horror and was upset and some of the sci-fi trappings.  But I got over that years ago and love this movie now.  John Carpenter does his best Nigel Kneale take on Lovecraft and those are two things that go great together (also love that the main character had gone to KNEALE College and Carpenter’s pen name is Quatermass.)

I love that, like in many of Lovecraft’s Miskatonic University stories, the film is about a group of scientists doing an investigation that takes a bizarre paranormal turn.  Awesome John Carpenter direction and music and just an all around great movie.  Plus it basically stars young pseudo Tom Atkins.

Image

 

 

OCTOBER 9:

Image

MYSTERY INCORPORATED: NIGHTFRIGHT & THE GATHERING GLOOM

Yep, more Scooby Doo.  And this is a great one with the Scooby Universe version of Vincent Price: Vincent Van Ghoul

Image

And parodies of THE FLY, DR. PHIBES, MASQUE OF THE RED DEATH and HOUSE ON HAUNTED HILL:

Image

That’s an animated Dr. Phibes, man!!

 

Image

VISITOR FROM THE GRAVE hosted by Elvira

So this Thriller Video release has Elvira hosting an episode of the HAMMER HOUSE OF HORROR TV series.  It’s not too bad.  Elvira is of course, amazing.  And the flick is kind of fun.  Plus it has Kathern Leigh Scott from DARK SHADOWS in it!

 

 

OCTOBER 10:

Image

HALLOWEEN WARS

Much like MAKING MONSTERS, this Food Network show is now a Halloween tradition.  A bunch of teams featuring a pumpkin carver, a cake artist and a sugar artist compete to make ghoulish creations.  This week’s guest judge: Danielle Harris!

 

Image

ARCHIE’S WEIRD MYSTERIES: Halloween of Horror.

I’d never seen this Archie meets the Night Stalker cartoon series but picked it up dirt cheap.  Was kind of cool, but wasn’t as great as the comics.  If Veronica is going to be at a Halloween party, then damnit I want Vampironica!

Image

Image

Right?

I did however read one of the best horror comics I’ve read in a long time (and one that deserves it’s own blog) AFTERLIFE WITH ARCHIE (which I might add, does feature Veronica as Vampironica as a Halloween costume and Betty as a sexy nurse.)

Image

 

 

Image

FRIDAY THE 13TH: THE SERIES   “PIRATES PROMISE” and “SCARECROW”

Yep, this was a day when I worked a lot so watched a lot of short stuff.   I LOVED this show as a kid when it was first in syndication.  I had a huge crush on Robey and thought this was the best horror show ever.  I still like it.

But I’d like to talk about Ryan Dallion (the protagonist along with Robey’s Mikki and Jack) and his sweaters.

Image

If you’re going to a seaside town (Pirate’s Promise) to look for a cursed foghorn….don’t wear a sweater with anchors all over it.

Image

You can’t see it in this image from SCARECROW but let me tell you that Ryan’s sweater has a HOCKEY PLAYER on it’s back.  Just a huge, knitted HOCKEY PLAYER.

Also, according to People Magazine, I wasn’t the only one who had a crush.

Image

 

 

 

 

OCTOBER 12:

Image

PHANTASM:

It was almost 2am and that meant it was the perfect time to watch Phantasm.  I can watch this movie anytime, but for some reason it seems even better in the early hours of the morning.  Classic.

 

 

 

OCTOBER 13:

Image

WEREWOLF: TV series

In Rockford, Illinois where I grew up, we did not have FOX when it first came on the air.  You remember, back when there were only 3 Networks and TV would go off at 1-2am every night?   Friends talked about Tracy Ullman (and something called The Simpsons) or Married with Children.  I, on the other hand, was bummed I could not watch the new werewolf TV show.  See,, I love monsters.  But my favorite monster is probably the werewolf.   So I finally watched the pilot of this show and you know what?  pretty damn good.  I think you could reshoot it now with the same script and it would be a hit–especially in today’s serial TV world.  Will have to watch the rest of them when I have time.

 

 

OCTOBER 14:

Image

DEAD SCARED (THE HAZING)

So on cable where I first saw it…and on the DVD I own, it’s called THE HAZING.  But I like DEAD SCARED much better.  This is a fun little horror film that very much wants to be NIGHT OF THE DEMONS meets EVIL DEAD II.  And you know, what?  It kind of succeeds.  It’s a lot of fun with some cool gore and some over the top crazy moments–and it takes place on Halloween night.  Plus, the two main leads look like this:

Image

Yeah, that’s Tiffany Sheppis dressed as a space girl with a chainsaw.   I’ll let you go watch this movie now.

 

 

That’s it for week 2.  As we get closer to Halloween I’ll start watching more and more of the classic Halloween films and movies that take place on the holiday.

What have you been watching?

Leave a Reply

