31 Days of Halloween – The List

Hey, everyone!

The World of the Weird Monster Show Blog is back!  And hopefully I won’t let it languish as before.  I will try to keep posting WOWMS content that I think you all may find interesting (including continuing the “making of” look backs at past season) as well as other stuff that interests me.

But today is October 1st and that means one thing!  It’s time for 31 days of Halloween movie viewing!  I know we say “everyday is Halloween” but this is the one time of year where I try to make sure I watch one movie a day.  I’ve already scoured my video collection and put together a list of films to choose from this season.   I’ve also included some 30-60 minute shows as well for those late nights where I may not be able to fit something in due to work, etc.

I will try to write little mini-reviews as I go and let you know what films were selected.

Without further adieu, here is the list of films, in no order, chosen for this year:

 

Image

The E! 100 SCARIEST MOVIE MOMENTS:  I had forgotten I’d burned this to DVD and decided to throw it in on the chance I needed something that I didn’t have to pay super attention to.  Or on some night where I couldn’t make up my mind.  This is a fall back title, probably won’t watch.

 

Image

THE ADDAMS FAMILY: Here’s one of those 30 minute picks for a late night after work.  Every October I need to at least watch the 2 part episode which takes place on Halloween where Gomez and Morticia talk about how they first met.

 

Image

ARCHIE’S WEIRD MYSTERIES: Another 30 minute choice.   Have never watched, but love the idea (and I had to use this image with the Archies/Scooby Doo mash-up because, well, awesome.)

 

Image

THE CHANGELING: One of my favorite movies that can really give me the chills and it’s been way too long since I’ve watched it.

 

Image

CREEPSHOW: Got the Blu-Ray for this a long time ago and have yet to put it in.  That changes now.

 

Image

CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF:  Had to throw in some Hammer Horror and this is one I haven’t watched in a long time.

 

Image

DR. PHIBES RIDES AGAIN!:  It demanded to be watched.

 

Image

VISITORS FROM THE GRAVE Hosted by Elvira:  Have a few Elvira hosted films this year.  Because, hey, I love Elvira and not many things say Halloween like Elvira hosting a movie.

 

Image

THE EVIL DEAD:  Another Blu-Ray I bought awhile ago and haven’t watched.

 

Image

THE FOG: One of my all time favorite horror films.  Just got the new Blu-Ray and can’t wait to watch.

 

Image

FRIDAY THE 13TH THE SERIES:  Another “short” choice, I love this show.  Robey!

 

Image

THE FRIGHTENERS:  What’s not to love?

 

Image

VAMPIRE JOURNALS: Hosted by William Shatner’s Full Moon Fright Night:  Okay, horrible movie….but one of the only available titles from Shatner’s horror host show.  Must watch!

 

Image

GINGER SNAPS:  Love this movie!  And it takes place on Halloween and it’s been way too long since I’ve seen it.

 

Image

IT’S THE GREAT PUMPKIN, CHARLIE BROWN:  C’mon.  It’s the best.  Will most likely watch right around 10/31.

 

Image

HALLOWEEN III SEASON OF THE WITCH: One of the best Halloween movies ever.  If you don’t like this movie, you are wrong.  It’s just that simple.  Atkins!

 

Image

HALLOWEEN:  Best watched on Halloween itself.  I think I may watch the extended TV version this year.  Because, you know, I think I own like 456 different copies of this.

 

Image

HALLOWEEN I & 2:  I just can’t tear my eyes from the Rob Zombie remakes.  I’ve loved everything he’s ever done.  But did NOT like the first Halloween.  Did like the 2nd.  But as time goes by I like each one more and more.

 

Image

HAUNTED PALACE: Don’t let the “Edgar Allen Poe” fool you, this is all HP Lovecraft and Vincent Price and it’s awesome.

 

Image

THE HAZING;  another fun Halloween night movie.  Tiffany Sheppis!

 

Image

HOUSE OF 1000 CORPSES:  Again…on Halloween night.  Love this movie.  Also, one of the best looking Blu-Rays I’ve ever seen.

 

Image

HOUSE OF DARK SHADOWS:  Love it.  Loved the series and while these films aren’t as cool, they’re still just fun to watch.

 

Image

THE HOWLING: One of the best werewolf movies ever.  Have the new Blu-Ray, looking forward to seeing it.

 

Image

THE LADY IN WHITE:  Another Halloween picture and just a great little movie.  I’ve always found this pretty unique.

 

Image

THE LORDS OF SALEM:  I loved this movie and it’s crying out to be watched around Halloween.

 

Image

MAY:  Another great flick.  Another that takes place on Halloween.

 

Image

MICROWAVE MASSACRE:  How could I not watch this?  Bought it at Days of the Dead last year.  Still haven’t watched.

 

Image

NIGHT OF THE DEMONS:  Such a great Halloween night classic!

 

Image

PHANTASM:  perfect for a late, fall night!

 

Image

PRINCE OF DARKNESS:  Just got the new Blu-Ray, looking forward to checking out the new transfer.

 

Image

SCOOBY DOO:  I LOVE Scooby Doo and Mysery, Inc.  So somewhere this month I’ll be watching multiple versions of this show.  Possible the HP Lovecraft episode of Mystery, Incorporated.  Maybe this one where they met Batman and Robin.  Maybe where they first saw the Hex Girls.  Who knows?  But I love Scooby Doo.

 

Image

SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES:  A Halloween requirement.  A must watch.

 

Image

TRANSYLVANIA 6-5000:  Or as I like to call it, WOWMS the Movie.  I love this movie.  Geena Davis Vampire!

 

Image

TRICK R TREAT: Owned this on Blu-Ray for years.  STILL have yet to see it.  Will this be the Halloween I finally watch this?

 

Image

UNIVERSAL MONSTERS: Blu-Ray:  Not sure which films yet.  I know at least THE WOLFMAN as it’s one of the transfers I haven’t looked at yet.

 

Image

WEREWOLF Tv show:  For a night when nothing else will do.

 

Image

THE WICKER MAN:  One of the best horror films ever.  Have to watch.  And early October film.

 

Image

WILLARD: Been way to long since I’ve watched this.

 

Image

WOLFMAN:  Haven’t seen since the theaters and have been wanting to see again.

 

Okay, that’s it.  Sure I won’t get to them all, but I’m going to try to see as many as possible (and I’m sure others will sneak in.)  How about you guys, what’s on your list for must see Halloween movies?

 

 

4 Responses to “31 Days of Halloween – The List”

  1. […] 31 Days of Halloween – The List […]

  2. […] Every Day is Halloween! « 31 Days of Halloween – The List […]

  3. […] Hey kids!  Well, we’re one week into the best month of the year, October!  Which means we’re getting closer and closer to Halloween.  Last week I posted a blog about all the movies I had set aside to watch this month in honor of the best holiday of the year.  I wanted to watch at least one thing from this Halloween box of videos each day.   You can see the list here: https://wowmonstershow.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/31-days-of-halloween-the-list/ […]

  4. […] Hey kids!  Well, we’re now two weeks into the best month of the year, October!  Which means we’re getting closer and closer to Halloween.  I started this month with a blog about all the movies I had set aside to watch this month in honor of the best holiday of the year.  I wanted to watch at least one thing from this Halloween box of videos each day.   You can see the list here: https://wowmonstershow.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/31-days-of-halloween-the-list/ […]

Leave a comment